h1

Commies, Canucks, Colleen and … er … yeah

May 2, 2010

May DayWell, May Day has passed, and all I did was sit around, drink, and watch the Canucks smack down the Blackhawks. Well, that and stare, frustrated, at the screen; I’m trying to launch a new blog, and I thought the idea was really cool and all, but now that it’s time to go forward, I’m drawing the proverbial blank page. Of course, I was probably high at the time; I had a tooth extracted early last week, and spent the next several days popping generic Vicodin. And, you know, it’s not the 7.5 mg of hydrocodone that worries or puzzles me, but the 750 mg of acetaminophen. Think of it this way: the maximum advisable dose of acetaminophen is four thousand milligrams. Or, to simplify, four grams. But if I took the maximum dose advised on the label, I would be hitting nine grams daily. Even the minimum prescribed regimen suggested three grams a day. Truth told, that’s more than I took in all of 2009, and probably 2008 as well. Combined.

Anyway, yeah. Enough of that. What else is new?

Oh, right. Our friend Michael Thompkins recently invited guest bloggers to his website, one of which is yours truly, covering the recent story about fake interviews. Definitely more interesting than me rehashing a story I’ve posted here is Dr. Colleen Fitzpatrick, a forensic genealogist who once remarked, “We’re in the wrong business. The real money is in creating the frauds, not debunking them.

Not only does it make for fascinating reading, you can also harangue Michael for some analysis of fake interviews and the like. It’s always fun to chide him into waxing philosophical about narcissism.

-bd

(The passing of May Day also means you have less than one month remaining to get a $75 discount on your conference fees for SCWC LA 8 scheduled for September 24-26 in Newport Beach. Register before June 1 to get your discount!.)

Leave a Reply

