h1

KYSL SD23: Laurel Corona

January 28, 2009

Know Your Session Leaders ….

I suppose it would be a cop-out to simply recycle the capsule from LA6, but since I missed that gathering, I didn’t get a chance to meet Laurel Corona.

So, yeah, what can I say? In addition to her workshop on “Writing Fiction About Real People“, Dr. Corona is also one of our featured guest speakers, slated for Saturday morning, and no, I haven’t any notes telling me what she intends to talk about then. Of course, if I’d started this round of KYSL earlier, I probably could have asked. (Note for the future.)

Now then … moving on. Dr. Corona is the author of The Four Seasons: A Novel of Vivaldi’s Venice, which has drawn high praise from critics, fellow authors, and readers alike, which is in and of itself no mean feat. And then there’s Until Our Last Breath: A Holocaust Story of Love and Partisan Resistance, written with Michael Bart. A moving tale of Lithuanian Jews during World War II, the praise doesn’t seem to stop. And expectations are running high for the forthcoming Penelope’s Daughter. We’ll have to ask her if there’s a date yet, and one way to find out is, you know, just maybe, show up at the workshop and ask her.

–bd

One comment

  1. […] Laurel Corona (Saturday morning), we’ve already met (click the link), and I really do feel like I should say something more here, but that might also be anticlimactic. […]



Leave a Reply

