h1

Radio: “Sound Focus”, “To The Best of Our Knowledge”

December 2, 2008

Just a couple of radio shows worth mentioning. First up, from my end of the west coast, I heard mention that KUOW (94.9 FM, Seattle) is rebroadcasting its September 30 episode featuring inimitable bestseller Terry Brooks. Twenty one million books is a freakin’ heap. I’ll have to listen to it again; in truth, I didn’t pay much attention at the time because, well, frankly, I only remember to listen to Sound Focus when I’m in the car. I know, I know. But Terry Brooks, when he opens his mouth, is always entertaining.

The stream is presently available, and I expect that a podcast should be available by tomorrow.

And then from Wisconsin Public Radio, To The Best of Our Knowledge presented an episode last month on “The Future of Science Fiction”. George R. R. Martin (“The American Tolkein”) talks about the nature of ideas; Ursula K. Leguin discusses the nature of science fiction. Also, S. T. Joshi discusses H. P. Lovecraft, and Istvan Csicsery-Ronay, Jr. (did you get all that?) waxes about the “The Seven Beauties of Science Fiction” with Anne Strainchamps.

I’ll try to come up with something more useful later this week. Nonetheless, enjoy.

-bd

Leave a Reply

