h1

Diary of a Debut Author video

May 19, 2008

There’s nothing like getting your first book published — except maybe getting your second, third and fourth book published. ‘Tween author Jessica Burkhart’s debut novel, Take the Reins, isn’t out from Aladdin ’til January ’09. But prolific blogger she is, and quite generous with sharing her writer’s journey, this little video she posted should serve to remind every emerging author that there’s nothing quite like the sweet smell of validation (except maybe The Call from your agent).

–msg

8 comments

  1. Thanks again for posting this! 🙂


  2. Jessica, this is so great. You’ve inspired me to start keeping track of these things. I’ve been kind of caught up in the whole whirlwind of it all – it’s easy to forget about stepping back and taking it all in.

    I hope you’ll keep posting the videos!

    -Sarah Ockler


  3. I am so unbelievably impressed by this young woman. Normally, I HATE young, pretty girls who think they can write or sing or act or whatever just because they are young and pretty. I HATE HATE HATE them. But this girl is a freaking inspiration. Thanks MSG for posting this video, and thanks Jessica for making it.


  4. Ok, so I just finished watching the whole video and I just have to add, “Wow is this gal an old soul or what?! When she was talking about how you have to chronicle every experience with your debut novel because you’ll never have that experience again…
    HOW HOW HOW did she know that? What is she, 16? I didn’t learn those kinds of lessons until my freaking early 30’s.

    And the fact that she followed through, and preserved those memories, AND is now using them as more content, making the making of the story into the story – It is just so clear to me that she was destined to publish that novel, and she’s destined to be a star.


  5. I’m totally impressed and in awe. I don’t know about recording every experience though. There’s some things with the small press route that I just don’t want to think more about. I guess if I hit it big time maybe there’d be more moments to record, but I don’t know somethings are private about this journey.

    I could see screaming for joy at the call, but then wondering if it sounded like a Dean moment -you know that rebel yell.


  6. wow, Jessica – you are such an inspiration! Congrats on your accomplishment(s) and I know you will one day become a household name, given your energy, enthusiasm and determination. You go girl!


  7. Jessica, when does your book come out?


  8. Wow, thank you all so much! My first novel comes out on January 27, 2009–two days before I turn 22! 🙂



Leave a Reply

