h1

Um … yeah, about that thing with the Comments

March 30, 2008

Perhaps this would be a good time to mention that we did fix the Comments feature on the SCWC blog. I mean, since I forgot to mention it last week. And especially since I am unsure how long the restriction was in place, suffice to say that I was thoroughly embarrassed when I figured out that I had asked people to give us their two cents’ worth on the passing of Arthur C. Clarke, and, well, you know ….

Or maybe you don’t.

At any rate, we’ve taken care of that little glitch, so drop a line and say hi. Really, we’d love to hear from you.

(Please?)

-bd

4 comments

  1. Hi.

    You said you’d love to hear from me. How was that?


  2. Well, hello. ‘Tis so nice to see you. I suppose a general hint people should bear in mind is that at no time is it safe to presume I know what I’m doing. I mean, I greatly appreciate people’s faith, but … uh … oh, right. I probably forgot to mention that I made my email available, too. I guess I figured people would notice.

    See what I mean?

    I have six months or so until Irvine. It is my intention to have some clue as to what I’m doing by that time. Okay, sooner than that would be nice, eh? Really, this isn’t just an exercise in egotism. I promise. The blog is actually intended to be of service to people, but for some reason I’m having trouble figuring how best to do that. I suppose I should stop whining. (Why does everything always come back to me, me, me?)

    Anyway, I’m open to suggestions. And we’re always happy to hear from people.

    So thank ye. I don’t feel nearly so lonely anymore. It’s good to know you’re out there. We get basic statistics, but we won’t know who you are unless we hear from you.


  3. Wow. I really did think you were, like, totally in charge, knew what needed to be done, etc.
    My suggestion for this blog would be to keep doing what you’re doing. You seem to divide the space into 1) what’s happening with the conference, 2) what’s happening with the workshop leaders/speakers/etc, and 3) what’s happening in the world of writing in general.

    You might try to post more about the workshop leaders/speakers, just so people who want to come to the conference will feel more connected to the people teaching. Maybe MSG and Wes could be encouraged to contribute to the blog a little more, to become more accessible to the writers.

    Hope this is helpful. I’ve been to 4 SCWConferences in 2 years, and feel like I learn exponentially more with each one. Currently, I’m just a humor columnist, but my goal is to publish my book and perhaps be a speaker at one of the conferences – because my dream job is to sit in a big comfy chair and give people my opinion.


  4. MSG,
    I’m so glad the comments are working.
    Hey, I have a blog going too.
    http://authorinsights.blogspot.com/

    Julie



Leave a Reply

