h1

Looking Forward

March 13, 2008

Novelist Ed Lin took some time to offer some thoughts on literary fans. Unfortunately, these reflections, penned for The Stranger aren’t the happiest:

A lot of great things happen at readings, enough to make it more than worth my while to step up to the mic. I like hearing that someone loved my book—it made them laugh, cry, whatever. One guy even told me that he read my first novel, Waylaid, in one sitting. On the toilet.

Hey, it made me laugh.

The only downside to readings is when the Weirdies show up. Weirdies love mouthing along during the reading; asking many, many questions during the Q&A; and following the author for blocks afterward ….

Maybe someday I’ll have weird fans. And maybe some day the experience will unsettle or annoy me. For now, of course, I can only wish.

-bd

Leave a Reply

