h1

Oh, yeah … there’s a game this weekend, isn’t there?

January 30, 2009

Rob Rogers on Super Bowl Media DayJust trying to clear my head before the next batch of KYSL. I came across an interesting story told by Rob Rogers, cartoonist for the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette:

During Media Day I ran into Don Hasselbeck, father of Matt Hasselbeck of the Seattle Seahawks. You may remember the Steelers beat them in Super Bowl XL. He predicted the Cardinals were going to win. I asked if that was because the Steelers beat his son’s team in the big game. He said no, that it was about Arizona’s momentum. Don works for Reebok as their director of NFL Sports marketing. He recalled how during the last Super Bowl his team was waiting in the wings with huge bins of Patriots Super Bowl champs T-shirts and they had to switch them out at the last minute when the Giants won. I asked what happens to all the shirts they print for the losing team. “They go to World Vision and they distribute them to poor countries who need clothing.” He smiled and said, “there’s a poor child in Nicaragua wearing a triple XL T-shirt that says Patriots: 19-0.”

I don’t know why I find that quote so amusing. At first I thought irony, but then I tried to calculate how that worked, and it would be incredibly sublimated, entirely personal, and at least a little bit sick if it was.

Anyway … back to business.

(A tip of the hat, if I wore one, to Dan Wasserman of the Boston Globe.)

-bd

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

