h1

About Poetry Cram

January 21, 2008

Hey all, Ed Decker here with skinny on my poetry workshop Poetry Cram: On the Page and In Your Face

Let me start by saying that I do not consider myself to be an authority on poetry. Like everybody else, I’m still trying to understand this elusive, mystifying art. This workshop will be as much of a benefit to me as I hope it is to you. Keeping that in mind, I want you to consider me more of a host/moderator than a teacher of poetry because really, who in their right mind would want to teach poetry?

scapegoats_reduced

So here’s what I’m thinking:

People who want to participate should bring at least 2 poems which will be read in class. Ideally, you should bring copies to pass out so everyone can read along and upon which then can scribble notes. (These will be returned when you are finished). If it’s not possible to bring copies then so be it, this is not Nazi Poetry Cram. Also, if reading out loud gives you shingles, fret not, I’ll be happy to read the poem for you. After your poem is read, we will open the discussion to the floor so you can receive feedback.

This is all about the group so your participation is vital. You can, of course, just sit and listen if you like, but if everybody did that, there’d be nobody to listen to. Also, I am encouraging people to be frank in their comments so be prepared for your little poetry feelings to sting a little.

Being that this is a brand new workshop, I’d like to open the forum. If you have any suggestions about how you’d like this session to go, or questions about the format, or just want to shoot-the-shit about poetry in general, feel free to use the comment board below. Now, let the dialogue begin.

Edwin Decker is a freelance journalist, columnist and poet. His first book of Poetry, Barzilla (and Other Psalms) is available to all WC conferees at a discount. Inquire within.

“Kill your dog.
Run for Mayor.
Live in a barrel.
Break your head with a hatchet.
Plant tulips in the rain.

But don’t write poetry.”
Charles Bukowski


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

